Questions about LDBS response to the White Paper

Why is the LDBS beginning a discussion process?
The White Paper contains significant opportunities, and risks, for church schools in London. As we decide how to move forward, we would like to do so as a family of schools and in a way that serves the interests of the children and communities we serve now and, we hope, for many generations to come. There will be a healthy diversity of views across the diocese and our response will be stronger if everyone has a chance to make their voice heard.

By setting out a process which gives every school a voice, and by trying to weigh the long-term as well as the short-term impact of our decisions, we aim to move forward as a family. This will be a complex process and we look forward to working with schools to secure a strong future for the children we serve.

Why has the LDBS Board set up an Academy Strategy Working Group?
The LDBS Board has set up a strategic working group to support the board to develop a strategy that is in the interests of the whole family of schools. The group includes Board members, LDBS staff and invited headteachers.

Who are the working group members?

  • Catherine Allard: Headteacher, John Keble School; LDBS Trustee; Chair of Education Committee
  • Fr Stephen Coleman: Vicar, St Peter’s Church Grange Park; Trustee Wren Academy Trust; Governor St Paul’s School, Winchmore Hill; LDBS Trustee; Vice-Chair of Governance Committee
  • Andrew Garwood-Watkins: Chair of Governors, St John & St James; Director, Grow Education Partners Ltd; LDBS Trustee; Chair of Operations Committee
  • Dame Alice Hudson: Executive Headteacher, Twyford Academies Trust
  • Juliette Jackson: Principal Executive Leader; Ofsted inspector and NLE
  • Christalla Jamil FCCT: CEO LDBS Academies Trust
  • Vicky Linsley: CEO St Mary Magdalene Academy; Ofsted inspector
  • Penny Roberts MBE: Diocesan Director of Education (designate)
  • Kate Roskell: LDBS education adviser

Why has the LDBS set up a Headteacher Consultation Group?
We recognise that to achieve full academisation for all our Church schools within a small number of strong MATs will require new thinking from us all – the LDBS, maintained schools and academies. The Headteacher Consultation Group gives us a chance to bring together a group of heads from across the diocese to discuss the issues together and to ensure that each school in each borough has a voice.

Who are the consultation group members?
We are thankful that so many heads came forward to participate in this group. We are sorry that we could not include everyone, but we hope there will be other ways to make sure all voices are heard.

  • Barnet – Anthony David, Monken Hadley, St Paul’s & Stefan Roos, St Mary’s, Holy Trinity
  • Brent – James Kelly, Christ Church
  • Camden – Jo Iwanicki, St Luke’s & Lorraine Dolan Holy Trinity & St Silas
  • City of London – Alexandra Allan, The Aldgate School
  • Ealing – Katie Tramoni, Christ the Saviour
  • Enfield – Debbie Butcher, St Michael At Bowes & Gavin Smith, Wren
  • Hackney – Jane O’Brien, St Mary’s & Sian Davies, the Primary Advantage Federation
  • Haringey – Simon Knowles Holy Trinity, St Michael’s, St Ann’s & Little Engineers
  • Hammersmith & Fulham – Elisabeth Stephenson, Lady Margaret & Claire Fletcher, St Paul’s
  • Harrow – Joanne Hester, St John’s
  • Hillingdon – Hilary Macaulay, Bishop Ramsey & Rachel Blake, Bishop Winnington Ingram
  • Hounslow – Sally Yarrow, The Green School for Girls, The Green School for Boys
  • Islington – Martha Braithwaite St Mark’s & Lindsey Hodgson, St John’s Highbury Vale
  • Kensington & Chelsea – Sarah Bouette St Thomas, St Clement & St James
  • Richmond – Angela Abrahams, St Mary’s
  • Surrey – Dan Aldridge, Bishop Wand
  • Tower Hamlets – Rebecca Abrahams, St Luke’s
  • Westminster – Eugene Moriarty, St Augustine’s & Alix Ascough, All Souls